Lab #2

Part I:

1- Attempting to give up social media for one day

2- Technology taking over teenagers’ lives, how technology is evolving, being monitored online and no privacy, social media affecting social skills, the dangers of social media, using social media for advertising, neuromarketing, has social media made us more materialistic?, why are all popular Instagram pages full of toned, tanned perfect girls? , Essena O’Neill, how a picture or video can go viral, is social media detrimental to our health?, Why couldn’t I give up social media?, Am I addicted to social media?, How does social media make me feel?, habit, addiction. socializing, Seeking happiness from social media?, alone,

Part II:

Interesting sites:

A New Dawn in Digital: Neuromarketing Meets Social Media

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lexi-herrick/11-things-we-fake-in-our-social-media-lives_b_7693182.html

http://wersm.com/how-your-brain-reacts-when-people-like-your-facebook-status/

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/technology-science/you-addicted-social-media-experts-6540873

https://stevecorona.com/how-30-days-without-social-media-changed-my-life

http://www.medicaldaily.com/facebook-addiction-activates-same-brain-areas-drugs-how-social-media-sites-hook-you-320252

http://www.thoughtpursuits.com/8-ways-life-will-improve-give-social-networking/#

http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/7-ways-quitting-social-media-can-transform-life/

Ideas/thoughts:

-fake perceptions of reality

-fake images

-use when bored

-first thing when I get up is to check Instagram and then Snapchat, not a good morning

-How much editing goes into an Instagram post?

-Tweet/post on Facebook to get validation (expect people to see it)

-time it takes to create a great caption or tweet

-distraction (studying, from world)

-brain likes visuals (social media provides a lot)

Part III:

1- Why couldn’t I give up social media?

2-Am I addicted to social media because I look for a distraction or because I am unhappy?

3-Is social media providing a place where I concentrate too much on other people’s lives rather than my own?

4-Was I not able to give up social media because I wanted to compare my life to other people’s “perfect” lives?

5-

Part IV:

The rays of light burst through the blinds and entered my room, awaking me from my peaceful slumber. 9:17 a.m. Not a bad time to wake up at but not the best. Today was a special day. I was starting fresh and giving up social media. No more Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook or Twitter. I turned on my phone, gave my last goodbyes to my favourite apps and let the shaking begin. One by one, they were gone. First Twitter with the little x and then Instagram, followed by the two other apps. It feel good. I was going to do it for real this time. I was going to spend the day reading and watching tv without the distraction of my phone and social media. I then got up to use the bathroom and continued on with my day until I felt an itch. An itch to redownload those little apps.

Part V:

9:17 a.m. The bright sun had woke me up once again. It was a nice start to a special day. I was going to give up social media once and for all. No more Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat or Facebook. Those little apps were going to disappear from my phone. I turned on my phone and started my journey one app at a time. They were gone and I was still alive. My day would be spent watching tv and reading instead of mindlessly scrolling and stalking. It was all going well until I felt that itch. The one that made me unlock my phone and press my finger down onto the App Store icon.

Part VI:

The bright rays of light burst happily through the tedious white blinds and entered my room with a great presence, awaking me from my long and peaceful slumber. 9:17 a.m. Not an atrociously bad time to wake up at but not the best and most ideal time. Today was a special and spectacular day. I was starting fresh and new and giving up one of my favourite things, social media. No more “like and comment back” Instagram, funny and ugly Snapchats, continuous stream of statuses on Facebook or retweets on Twitter. I turned on my prized phone and let the games begin. I clicked each app slowly, one at a time, letting

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

