Lab #3

Part I:

The writer I chose is Dale Carnegie.

Conventions and techniques:

-describes things well

-uses a lot of adjectives

-uses strong verbs

-bit of a sarcastic tone

Part II:

It was the first game of the season. A home game. Basketballs flew across the gym from left to right. The sound of dribbling filled the gym. The referee blew his whistle, signalling it was time to begin. One by one, we huddled around our coach, Emilie for a pep talk. I could feel the excitement buzzing around the gym. My royal blue jersey clung to my body as there was no victory over static. The game was on. Paulina grabbed for the ball in the circle and with determination, seized it and passed to Emily. She dribbled up the court, dodging every opponent as I ran to keep up with the game. She went for a layup and right there and then, we had scored the first basket of the season. The four of us on court ran to Emily to celebrate our first two points.

Part III:

The burnt orange leather ball, laced with black lines flew across the gym. Its perfectly round symmetry hit the ground as it bounced back up, defying gravity. My opponent dribbled towards the net, hoping to score some points. Vanessa has another idea in mind. She moved towards the girl and played defensively, waving her arms in the air like a madman. Unfortunately, her defensive tactics failed. The girl passed to her opponent who I was keeping an eye on. But so was Paulina. The girl jumped in the air to catch at the same time as Paulina and I did. In that one split second, as Paulina pushed the other girl, the other girl pushed into me. More specifically, my knee. As I could feel gravity doing its job, an excruciating pain radiated from my knee. I did the only thing I could in the moment. I screamed. My scream as loud as a banshee pierced the room and managed to stop the game.

Part IV:

The Queen of Angels Academy gym was a very particular place. The smooth green tiled floors had several white lines on it to mark the different boundaries for different playing courts. On the far left side of the gym, there was a stage with huge, black as night velvet curtains. The wooden floors of the stage contrasted the muddy green floors of the gym. The big basket ball nets hung on both sides of the gym, towering over everyone. The wooden benches were set up on one side for our first home game of the season. I could feel the energy buzzing through the room. We were pumped and ready to conquer. The referee blew his whistle, signalling that the game was on. The ball flew into the air as each team attempted to grab it.

Part VI:

Hoa yeah. We scored a point. The other team no score. I had the ball and then I fall. Ai yea! I fell and got hurt. I hurt my knee. It was very painful.

Leave a Reply

